What We Do

The Planning Department provides assistance to members of Council and the public in matters related to land use in the Township of Cavan Monaghan.

Needler's Mill and Old Town HallThe Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing provides an in-depth look at the various types of planning applications and information ranging from Official Plans, Subdivisions, Zoning By-laws, Land Severances, and the Local Planning Appeal Tribunal (LPAT).

The Ministry has prepared a series of Citizens' Guides to help you understand how the land use planning process works in Ontario. They are intended to give general information only and are not an interpretation of the Planning Act or any other act. You should refer to the legislation for specific requirements and procedures.

The Growth Plan for the Greater Golden Horseshoe, 2017 recognizes the importance of both the Natural Heritage System and Agricultural System.  Mapping for these systems was released in February 2018.  Please consult the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs for a Summary of the Agricultural System and Natural Heritage System Policies in Ontario's Provincial Plans.

Landowners should consult the Township for guidance and interpretation of all land use policies.  When considering changes to a property (e.g. an expansion or alteration of a building or structure, a new building or structure, lot creation or a change in land use), you may wish to submit a Land Use Inquiry to one of the Planning Staff listed at the bottom of this page.

   Applications and Fees   

Zoning By-law or Official Plan, What's the Difference?

An Official Plan sets out a community vision and goals for the future. It ensures that new development and growth considers a broad range of interests and perspectives and that land use planning decisions are made to reflect local values. If you are interested in long term growth forecasts, future development patterns, and strategies for protecting resources, the Official Plan for the Township of Cavan Monaghan is the document you should consult.

Official Plan for the Township of Cavan Monaghan

On the other hand, a Zoning By-law establishes regulations that help implement the policy directions set out in the Official Plan. If you are interested in finding out about the permitted uses or parking requirements for your property, or regulations for operating a home business, the Township Zoning By-law will provide detailed information.

Properties are either regulated by the Cavan-Millbrook-North Monaghan Zoning By-law 2004-62, as amended, or the Oak Ridges Moraine Zoning By-law 2006-18.   Please note that the zoning by-law is continually being amended by Council through housekeeping changes and site specific amendments.  The zoning by-laws provided here are for general information only and you should contact Planning Department Staff for the most recent site specific information.

Cavan-Millbrook-North Monaghan Zoning By-law No. 2004-62, as amended

Schedule A Part 1, Schedule A Part 2

Oak Ridges Moraine Zoning By-law No 2006-18

Schedule A, Schedule D, Schedule E

Current Projects

Documents - Current

 Additional Contact Information and Links


Planning Department - Township of Cavan Monaghan

Karen Ellis

 Director of Planning 705-932-9334 

Christina Coulter

 Planner 705-932-9321 
Our Local Weather